UNIVERSITY OF ONTARIO INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MINUTES OF THE 67th REGULAR MEETING (PUBLIC SESSION) OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

DATE: February 10, 2011 TIME: 7:00 p.m. PLACE: Community Room (A144)

IN ATTENDANCE:

Governors:	Peter Williams, Chair Larry Seeley, Vice-Chair
	Dave Broadbent Garry Cubitt (teleconference) Brian Cutler Peter Dixon John Friedlan Allan Furlong Patricia MacMillan Robert Marshall (teleconference) Michael Martin Michael Newell Ian Ngaira Kevin Pope Gerry Warman (teleconference) Heather White Franklin Wu
President	Ron Bordessa
Board Secretary:	Marika McKetton
Regrets:	Michael Angemeer Carlee Fraser Doug McKay Peter McLaughlin Ann Stapleford-McGuire
Senior Staff:	Catherine Drea Murray Lapp Brad MacIssac Matt Milovick Cathy Pitcher Judy Rigby MaryLynn West-Moynes
Guests:	Ronald Hinch, Professor, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Nadia Jaga, Planning & Budget Officer, Faculty of Health Sciences Melissa Mancini, Metroland Paper, <i>Oshawa This Week</i> Kyla Morgan, <i>The Chronicle</i> Bill Muirhead, Assoc. Provost, Academic Olivia Petrie, Secretary, Academic Council Gary Pitcher, Director, Campus Safety Faisal Qureshi, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science Elaine Wannamaker, Manager of Insurance and Risk Management

CALL TO ORDER

Peter Williams, the Chair of the UOIT Board of Governors, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

The Chair noted the presence of the members of the Committee to Recommend a President (CTRP).

ADDITIONS/DELETIONS TO THE AGENDA

None were noted.

CONFLICT OF INTEREST DECLARATIONS

None.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

MOTION Moved by Allan Furlong

Seconded by John Friedlan,

"That the Board of Governors approve the Minutes of the Public Meeting of the Board held Jan. 13, 2011, as presented."

CARRIED

CHAIR'S REPORT

Board Chair Peter Williams reported that the Committee to Recommend a President would be making a recommendation to the Board Chair that evening and that a media announcement would be made after the Board made its decision.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

President Bordessa reported that applications are up 5% and the Registrar's Office started making offers of admission in December for the first time ever. He also noted that UOIT had a very successful start-up downtown with the opening of the new building at 61 Charles and that student and staff feedback is very positive. There was an event earlier that afternoon at 61 Charles to honour the Alger Family, which had owned 61 Charles, and had made a very generous donation to UOIT thanks to the efforts of MaryLynn West-Moynes and her team.

President Bordessa also noted that the FIRST Lego League Provincial Championship would occur this Saturday, for the second year in a row, in the Campus Recreation Centre with over 1,000 attending including some 500 9-14 years old students accompanied by their coaches and parents. New Oshawa Mayor John Henry will welcome them and UOIT Canada Research Chair Dr. Carolyn McGregor will address the future engineers and Scientists prior to their lunch

Also, Ontario's Best Lecturers at the Regent Theatre will have two lectures taped for future broadcast by TVO: one by Dr. Christopher DiCarlo, former UOIT professor and once by current UOIT Professor, Dr. Rupinder Brar. Both are winners of the TVO Best Lecturer Competition in 2008 and 2010 respectively. In addition, a UOIT student will receive the first award resulting from the TD Meloche Monnex Award given to UOIT on behalf of each winner. Dr. DiCarlo will present it. UOIT received \$10,000 in 2008 and then another \$10,000 when Dr. Brar won in 2010.

PRESENTATIONS

Gary Pitcher and Elaine Wannamaker gave a comprehensive presentation on the Office of Campus Safety, and the Risk Management process in UOIT. It was noted that risk management is integrated into existing planning, operational and reporting processes to ensure a continuous, proactive and systematic approach in mitigating, managing and responding to risks.

MOVE TO IN-CAMERA SESSION

MOTION Moved by John Friedlan

Seconded by Michael Martin,

"That the meeting move to in-camera session at 6:50 p.m."

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Peter Williams, Board Chair

Marika McKetton, Board Secretary