THE UNIVERSITY OF ONTARIO INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MINUTES OF THE 5th REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

DATE:	January 8, 2003	PLACE:	Community Room
TIME:	5:26 p.m.		Oshawa Campus

IN ATTENDANCE:

	GOVERNORS:	Bob Strickert, Chair Peter Bagnall Joanne Burghardt Garry Cubitt Bill Hunter Denise Jones Gail MacKenzie Mark Moorcroft Mike Shields Phillip (Rocky) Simmons Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann Doug Wilson
	PARTICIPANTS:	Carol Beam Liesje de Burger Lisa Grande
	PRESIDENT:	Gary Polonsky
	SECRETARY:	Cathy Pitcher
	SENIOR STAFF:	Bev Balenko Catherine Drea Michael Finlayson Margaret Greenley Ann Mars Gerry Pinkney Don Sinclair Terry Slobodian MaryLynn West-Moynes
REGRETS:	GOVERNORS:	Michelle Carter
	PARTICIPANTS:	Deborah Kinkaid
	TREASURER:	Don Hargest
	SENIOR STAFF:	Richard Levin Ross Stevenson

CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m.

REGRETS

The Chair noted regrets from Governor Michelle Carter, Participant Deborah Kinkaid, Treasurer Don Hargest, and Executive Team members Richard Levin and Ross Stevenson.

INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

At the request of the Chair, MaryLynn West-Moynes acknowledged Neil McCallum and Derek Lindsay, second year Journalism students representing the Chronicle newspaper.

ADDITIONS/DELETIONS TO THE AGENDA

Item 8.2, By-Law relating to Academic Council, was deleted as a decision item. Gary advised that of the three items COU had asked us to address, one remained, i.e. the relationship between the Board and Academic Council. He stated that he had discussed with COU a process to review this item and it would be brought forward to the Executive Committee on January 27 and then to the Board in February.

CONFLICT OF INTEREST DECLARATIONS

None was noted.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann asked that the Minutes be amended to reflect that she had not attended the December Board meeting.

Action: Cathy will amend the minutes as noted.

There being no further errors or omissions in the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of December 11, 2002, the Chair declared the minutes accepted as amended.

DECISION ITEMS

Affirm Decisions Item(s) from Joint Boards of Governors Meeting

President's 2003 Goal Package

Moved by Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann

Seconded by Mark Moorcroft

MOTION "That the Board of Governors of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology endorse #18 the President's 2003 Goal Package for the University of Ontario Institute of Technology, to be integrated with the President's 2003 Goal Package for Durham College of Applied Arts and Technology, as amended."

CARRIED

By-Law Relating to Academic Council

The Chair opened the floor for discussion regarding the By-Law also noting that this item was no longer an agenda item for decision. Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann questioned if the Executive Committee would also act as a Nominating Committee? Bob advised this was a tentative plan based on practice at other universities. He noted there might also be a Compensation Committee. He also stated it was tentatively thought there would be one Executive Committee, one Audit & Finance Committee and one Building Committee for both Boards. He stressed that all this would be discussed at the Executive Committee meeting.

INTERIM FINANCIAL REPORT

Gary reported that money was being spent as per the transitional funding and that this was the last year this fund would be solely relied on as next year we would receive tuition and grant money. Lorraine questioned if we would apply for more transitional funding. Gary replied that a decision would be made in Year Three.

REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT

PEQAB Site Visits/Program Approvals

Catherine Drea advised that the site visit for Education is currently scheduled for January 23 and an update would be given at the February Board meeting. She reported that the Nursing Program had been approved. Doug Wilson questioned if this would be the last program to require PEQAB approval. Gary advised we still required PEQAB approval until we have received degree granting powers, which likely won't be until 2004.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 7:12 p.m.

Bob Strickert, Chair

Gary Polonsky, President