

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of April 17, 2018

FOR ACTION

Faculty Nominations to Academic Council

Based on the 2018-2019 Election results, the Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following faculty members to serve on Academic Council for a three-year term starting on July 1, 2018 and ending on June 30, 2021:

•	Faculty of Business and Information Technology	ology -	Shahram Heydari
•	Faculty of Business and Information Technology	ology -	Ferdinand Jones
•	Faculty of Energy Systems & Nuclear Scient	ce -	Hossam Gaber
•	Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science	-	Qusay Mahmoud
•	Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science	-	Atef Mohany
•	Faculty of Health Sciences	-	Janet McCabe
•	Faculty of Health Sciences	-	Elita Partosoedarso
•	Faculty of Science	-	Brad Easton
•	Faculty At-Large	-	Teresa (Tess) Pierce
•	Faculty At-Large	-	Hannah Scott

Student Nominations to Academic Council & its Standing Committees

Based on the 2018-2019 Election results, the Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following students to serve on Academic Council/its standing committees for a two-year term starting on September 1, 2018 ending on August 31, 2020:

٠	Undergraduate Student Position on Academic Council	-	Sonia Hector
•	Undergraduate Student Position on Academic Council	-	Alvssa Williams

- Undergraduate Student Position on Academic Council
- Graduate Student Position on Academic Council • Student Position on Academic Appeals Committee
- Student Position on Admissions & Scholarship Committee -
- Student Position on Curriculum & Program Review Committee -
- Alyssa Williams
- Sarah Abdelmassih
 - Sierra Dargan

-

- Lidya Salim
 - Lyndsay Woolridge



OFFICE OF THE UNIVERSITY SECRETARY AND GENERAL COUNSEL

April 10, 2018

Academic Council University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Certificate of the Chief Electoral Officer – Academic Council Elections 2018-2019

As the Chief Electoral Officer for the Academic Council elections for the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT), it is my responsibility to oversee the conduct of elections within the established policies and procedures, in order to ensure the integrity and fairness of the election process.

My review of the elections for teaching staff and student representatives on Academic Council takes into account the conduct of the election process, as well as any complaints received regarding conduct of candidates during the elections. During this election process, there were no complaints received regarding the conduct of the elections.

It is my opinion that the election process was conducted fairly and in accordance with the *Academic Council Procedures for the Election of Teaching, Non-Academic Staff and Student Representatives.*

Based on the voting results, I hereby certify to Academic Council that the following teaching staff members were eligible to run as candidates and were properly elected to the UOIT Academic Council for the term of July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021:

- Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science Qusay Mahmoud
- Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science Atef Mohany
- Faculty of Business and Information Technology Shahram Heydari
- Faculty of Business and Information Technology Ferdinand Jones

Based on the election results, I hereby certify to Academic Council that the following teaching staff members were eligible to run as candidates, were the sole nominees for the specified positions, and were properly acclaimed to the UOIT Academic Council for the term of July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021:

•	Faculty of Health Sciences	-	Janet McCabe
•	Faculty of Health Sciences	-	Elita Partosoedarso
•	Faculty of Energy Systems & Nuclear Scie	nce -	Hossam Gaber
•	Faculty of Science	-	Brad Easton

- Faculty At-Large Teresa (Tess) Pierce
- Faculty At-Large Hannah Scott

Based on the voting results, I hereby certify to Academic Council that the following students were eligible to run as candidates and were properly elected to the UOIT Academic Council and its committees for the term of September 1, 2018 to August 31, 2020:

- Undergraduate Student Position on Academic Council Sonia Hector
- Undergraduate Student Position on Academic Council Alyssa Williams
- Student Position on Admissions & Scholarship Committee Lidya Salim

Based on the election results, I hereby certify to Academic Council that the following students were eligible to run as candidates, were the sole nominees for the specified position, and were properly acclaimed for the term of September 1, 2018 to August 31, 2020:

٠	Graduate Student Position on Academic Council -	Sarah Abdelmassih
•	Student Position on Academic Appeals Committee -	Sierra Dargan
•	Student Position on Curriculum & Program Review Committee -	Lyndsay Woolridge

Becky Dinwoodie Chief Electoral Officer Assistant University Secretary