

Memorandum

To: Members of Academic Council

From: Dr. Robert Bailey, Associate Provost

Date: December 13, 2016

Re: 2016 UOIT Teaching Awards

I am please to inform Academic Council that Dr. Janette Hughes in the Faculty of Education has won the Teaching Award for Tenure/Tenure Track Faculty, and Mr. Ronald Bell in the Faculty of Science has won the Teaching Award for Teaching Assistants.

There were 8 nominations submitted this year. There were 6 submissions for the Tenure/Tenure Track Faculty award: Dr. Janette Hughes, Dr. Meghann Lloyd, Faculty of Health Sciences, Dr. Tanner Mirrlees, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities, Dr. Jeremy Bradbury, Faculty of Science, Dr. Natalie Oman, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities, and Dr. Liqun Cao, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities. There were no submissions for the Teaching Faculty award. There were 2 submissions for the Teaching Assistants award: Mr. Ronald Bell, and Mr. Iqram Patel, Faculty of Business and Information Technology. Each of the nominees provided the committee with teaching portfolios which illustrated the high value that teaching has at UOIT and the high level of teaching practices found across campus.

I would like to thank the members of the Teaching and Learning Advisory Committee that had the most difficult task of choosing the recipients this year: Ms. Jaymie Koroluk, Manager, Teaching and Learning Centre, Dr. Elita Partosoedarso, Faculty of Health Sciences, Dr. Hannah Scott, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities, Dr. Namdar Saniei, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Dr. Miguel Vargus-Martin, Faculty of Business and Information Technology, Daniel Hoornweg, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science, Joseph MacMillan, Faculty of Science, and Mahmoud Shaaban, Faculty of Graduate Studies.

R Bang