

BOARD OF GOVERNORS' 134th REGULAR MEETING

Minutes of the Public Session of the Meeting of September 26, 2024 12:03 p.m. to 2:04 p.m. Virtual

GOVERNORS IN ATTENDANCE:

Laura Elliott, Board Chair

Eric Agius, Vice-Chair and Chair of Strategy & Planning Committee

Nolan Bederman

Carla Carmichael. Chair of Audit & Finance Committee

Frank Carnevale

Mitch Frazer, Chancellor

Matthew Mackenzie

Peter Marchut

Lisa McBride

Laura Money

Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor

Gaurav Singh, Chair of Governance, Nominations & Human Resources

Hannah Scott

Kim Slade

Dwight Thompson

Emily Whetung-MacInnes

Susanna Zagar

REGRETS:

Ahmad Barari

Neeraj Grotra

Mike Rencheck

BOARD SECRETARY:

Nicola Crow, University Secretary

STAFF:

Kirstie Ayotte, Assistant University Secretary
James Barnett, Vice-President, Advancement
Jamie Bruno, Vice-President, People and Transformation
Barb Hamilton, Legal Executive Assistant

Krista Hester, Chief of Staff
Les Jacobs, Vice-President Research and Innovation
Lori Livingston, Provost and Vice-President, Academic
Jennifer MacInnes, General Counsel
Brad MacIsaac, Vice-President, Administration
Joe Stokes, University Registrar and AVP International
Sarah Thrush, Associate Vice-President, Planning and Strategic Analysis

GUESTS:

Chelsea Bauer
Kathleen Cho
Mikael Eklund
Karla Gomez
Christine McLaughlin
Joanne Nickle

1. Call to Order

The Chair called the public session to order at 12:03 p.m. and began with a thoughtful Land Acknowledgement, first sharing her personal reflection.

2. Agenda

Upon a motion duly made by F. Carnevale and seconded by E. Agius the Agenda was approved as presented.

3. Conflict of Interest Declaration

None Declared

4. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed attendees to the first Board meeting of the year and introduced the new Governors. After a round of introductions, she noted that one incoming Governor joining the Board would be deferred for a year. She highlighted the success of the Chancellor's Challenge on September 24th, which raised over \$125,000 for students, and expressed gratitude to the President, Chancellor, and the team for their efforts. She also congratulated L. Livingston's team for leading in financial contributions, while her own team, Govs for Grads, placed third.

The Chair encouraged participation in the upcoming National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, inviting Board members to offer personal land acknowledgments at future meetings. She then shared her experience attending the Council of Chairs of Ontario Universities, where discussions centered on the SMA4 mandate, University funding, and financial challenges. While many universities are concerned about

financial stability due to government grants and frozen tuition, Ontario Tech's differentiated growth strategy was recognized as a proactive approach.

5. President's Report

S. Murphy thanked the Chair for her leadership and welcomed new and returning Board members. He provided updates on summer events and the academic year's energetic start, noting the largest incoming class as part of the University's growth strategy. He praised the Provost's team for a successful orientation and the Ontario Tech Student Union (OTSU) for engaging activities.

He discussed ongoing challenges with International student enrolment, emphasizing uncertainties due to documentation delays and the critical November count date for funding. He expressed frustration over the lack of collaboration between Federal and Provincial governments on education and credited Joe Stokes and his team for managing these issues. Despite potential declines in International student numbers, he remains optimistic that Ontario Tech will handle these challenges well, avoiding significant losses compared to other institutions.

6. Consent Agenda

The Chair confirmed that the Consent Agenda and its contents were received/adopted/approved under Agenda Item #2.

6.1 Minutes of Public Session of Board Meeting on June 27, 2024

7. Adjournment

Upon a motion duly made by F. Carnevale, the public session adjourned at 12:38 p.m.

Nicola Crow, University Secretary